Blog Tour: Sinking Chef by Sylvia Ashby

The Sinking Chef (Pot Love Book 2) by [Ashby, Sylvia]

The Sinking Chef (Pot Love 2) by Sylvia Ashby

Publisher: Vangtorp Volumes
Published: April 2017
Format: Ebook
Pages: 428
ASIN: B06ZYGMPLB

Goodreads

Amazon UK

Description

Bridget Jones meets Burnt in this delightful comedy novel about a talented YouTuber and the guy who keeps trying to bring her down. Although part of a series this book is completely standalone, as are all other novels in the Pot Love Series.

In Belsize Park, London, Ashley works hard on her daily YouTube channel “The Sinking Chef”. It’s filmed right in her kitchen, so she doesn’t go out much.
James is a gruff British TV director, turned publisher, who Ashley had a crush on ages ago. She has moved on but when he calls with an offer to take her out to lunch she doesn’t say no. It’s only lunch – what can go wrong?
The day Ashley meets James for lunch and he promises her a book deal, she makes the worse decision in her life – to hide the book deal from her boyfriend, Giacomo. As things progress Ashley’s secrets mount up and other things in her life unravel. Is there a connection? And how is she going to get out of this without losing Giacomo and the life she loves?
Set in the heart of fast-paced London, The Sinking Chef is a charming story of love, recipes, secrets, and the determination to do thinks right by those you love most in your life.

My Review

Thank you to the author and publisher for the chance to read and review this book. I took part in the cover reveal for this back in June and I said then I was excited to read this.

While it’s the second in the series, you can read it as a stand alone which I did.  There is plenty of details to make sure you’re up to date with the previous book and that you know how the characters have got to where they are.

I think the ending of this book was the best bit. Not because it was finished but you finally got to feel what Ashley feels. Her anticipation, her excitement and her worry. I felt more for her on the last few page then I did the rest of the book to be honest. Which I feel bad about. She is a good character, she’s funny, clumsy, and just a strong character in all. I never really related to any of the characters. I think that, for me, I should have read the first book.  Some of the characters didn’t really add anything to it for me, they were just background noise.

The writing style was quick and easy to read. It moved along nicely without any need for pointless paragraphs or speech. One thing I didn’t like was the timeline. It was never really made clear that weeks were passing at a time. There was also a few discrepancies, like Ashley giving a vase to someone and then the next she still had it. I tried to look over it but it happened more than once and I had to check details more than once.

The storyline in general was a little farfetched but it was enjoyable. It was the ridiculousness of it that made me keep reading, I wanted to know what outrageous thing happened next. And I also wanted to know who it was happening to. Everything about this book kept me entertained, I just wish that I had read the beginning of the series.

Overall, the storyline was good, it was entertaining, the characters were good, the characters that had main plot lines all interacted well, and it was written well. For me, this book was a bit of a mixture of opinions for me.  While I think all of the previous points, I also think that here was just too much going on at the some time.  The timing was off, the details that never stayed the same, and that I didn’t actually feel for the characters until the end was an issue. For all of those reasons, I’m giving it a 3/5

About The Author

Sylvia Ashby is fond of the written word: books, blog posts, recipes, even an explanation to the HM Revenue & Customs as to why she thinks skirts should be exempt from VAT – she’s written it all!
She likes travelling and has lived all over Europe
– London, Brussels, Amsterdam and Sofia,
Bulgaria.
Currently, she lives in Leuven, Belgium with her husband, daughter, son and a sparrow called Jack, who comes occasionally to peck the seeds she leaves for him on top of the garden shed.
Twitter: @bysylvia_a

Leave a Reply

