Blog Tour Extract: Prosecco and Promises by A.L. Michael

IMG_20180112_115306.png


thumbnail_Prosecco and Promises Cover


Today I’m excited to be bringing you an extract for Prosecco and Promises by A.L Michael. This is the second book in the Martini Club series. The first book is Cocktails and Dreams and is a fabulous read. This book looks like it’s a fun, heart-warming read.

Book Description

Meet Mia: an unforgettable heroine learning the meaning of life and love on a beautiful Italian island. Perfect for fans of Mhairi McFarlane, Lindsey Kelk and Lucy Vine.

Mia’s dad has always been her idol. Now, she faces losing him and he is insisting that she leave England to visit her mother’s family on the Italian island of Ischia.

Arriving on the island, Mia is embraced by the warm, crazy relatives she hardly knows. Despite her doubts about the trip, it is in Italy that Mia discovers connections to a part of her life that’s been missing, and during the sun-soaked days and steamy nights Mia falls for handsome local Salvatore. But as the day of her departure draws nearer can she risk having her heart broken twice in one summer?

If you love Prosecco and Promises, why not read more about Mia’s best friend Savvy in Cocktails and Dreams? Out now!

Extract

As I stepped out of the airport, suddenly missing the air conditioning, I saw a red, dusty car swerve up to the parking bays, in between taxis. Much beeping and swearing ensued, with a frizzy-haired Italian girl sticking her head out of the car to lift up her sunglasses and peer at me quizzically.

‘You Mia?’

I nodded.

‘Mia from England?’

I nodded again.

‘I’m Nikki – your cousin?’ She popped her gum and smiled toothily. I remembered. She was a few years younger than me, and I suddenly had the clear memory of her telling me not to be sad, and that I had very pretty hair. She had brushed my hair every day I was there, stroking it gently like it was a cat. That sweet little girl seemed nothing like the unholy terror in front of me now, with thin line-work tattoos snaking down her slender brown arms, shaking her fists vehemently as she swore back at the taxi drivers surrounding her.

‘Come on, get in!’ she yelled at me, in that aggressively normal Italian tone I suddenly recalled from somewhere deep in the recesses of my mind.

I picked up the suitcase and heaved it into the boot, before jumping into the front seat, my hands up in apology to all the white-haired old men yelling at us.

She zipped off immediately, the car moving at worrying speeds.

‘Seatbelt!’ Nikki grinned, popping her gum again. ‘Mama won’t like it if I kill you before we get home.’

Thinking about it, Nicoletta must have been about five the last time I saw her. She had been quiet and gentle, the youngest child with four much older brothers who were raucous and rough in their games. I’d spent a lot of that week playing checkers and snap, and searching for shells on the beach to make friendship bracelets. She’d told me she was sorry I didn’t have a mama any more.

‘So, you’re quiet! Was it a long flight, are you tired? Should we get coffee? We don’t have a Starbucks, do you want a Starbucks?’ She took a breath and looked at me. ‘You’re not saying anything, I did pick up the right person, right? You’re my cousin, Mia, from England?’

‘Yes, Nicoletta, I’m your cousin Mia from England. Mia from England with a headache.’ I sighed, looking out of the window.

‘Jeez, Mia from England with an attitude problem.’ Nikki muttered to herself, blowing a strand of wild hair from across her face. She adopted a serious English accent. ‘Nice to see

you, Nikki, it’s been a long time, how are you, we’ve grown up, we must have much to talk about!’

I pressed my lips together. ‘Is there a reason I sound like Winston Churchill in that impersonation?’

‘Because you’re an old, grouchy Englishman?’ She grinned at me. ‘Come on, I know you’re tired, but we’ve got a drive to the village. Tell me about your life.’

What should I tell her? I went to university to study archaeology, and then did nothing with it? That I wanted to be digging in the dirt, but instead I applied concealer to strangers’ faces, looking at my fingertips and wondering when there would be fresh earth beneath my nails again? Did I mention that my father had sent me here as a pretty place to sit around and wait to become an orphan, and that I was pretty pissed off about it? I didn’t want to talk about me. I didn’t want to talk at all, but I certainly didn’t want to talk about me.

Author Bio

A.L. Michael is hurtling towards the end of her twenties a little too quickly. She is the author of 10 novels. Her most recent collection of books, The Martini Club Series, started with Cocktails and Dreams, to be followed by Prosecco and Promises, and Martinis and Memories. She likes to write about difficult women. Well, they say to write what you know. Andi works as a Content Writer, as well as a therapeutic facilitator. She has a bunch of degrees in stuff to do with writing, and wrote her MSc dissertation on the power of creative writing in eating disorder recovery. She truly believes stories can change your life.

thumbnail_Prosecco and Promises Blog Tour Week 1 (3)

 

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “Blog Tour Extract: Prosecco and Promises by A.L. Michael

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.