Blog Tour Review: A Winter Beneath The Stars by Jo Thomas

thumbnail_Winter Beneath The Stars Cover.jpg A Winter Beneath the Stars by Jo Thomas

Publisher: Headline Review
Published: 29th November 2018
ISBN13: 9781472250131
Source: Directly from the publisher and NetGalley. Thank you for my copy, and also to Anne Cater for letting me take part in the blog tour

Goodreads | Amazon UK

Description

Escape to snowy Sweden in the gorgeous new novel from the author of Late Summer in the Vineyard and Sunset Over the Cherry Orchard. Fans of Jill Mansell and Milly Johnson will love this unforgettable winter story from Jo Thomas.

Halley has been running from her problems for years.

On a courier trip to Tallfors, deep in Swedish Lapland, everything is going to plan. Halley has her bag, with two precious wedding rings inside for delivery… until she doesn’t.

The only way to save the wedding is to team up with mysterious reindeer herder Bjorn, the one person who can lead her across the snowy tundra to be reunited with her bag.

On a journey of a lifetime beneath the stars, with only the reindeer and a bad-tempered stranger for company beside the fire, Halley realises that she will need to confront her past heartaches in order to let the warmth of love in once more…


About the Author

Jo Thomas Author Picture.jpgJo Thomas worked for many years as a reporter and producer, first for BBC Radio 5, before moving on to Radio 2’s The Steve Wright Show. In 2013 Jo won the RNA Katie Fforde Bursary. Her debut novel, The Oyster Catcher, was a runaway bestseller in ebook and was awarded the 2014 RNA Joan Hessayon Award and the 2014 Festival of Romance Best Ebook Award. Jo lives in the Vale of Glamorgan with her husband and three children

 

 


My Review

While set in freezing temperatures, this book is a warm romantic read. I definitely want to visit Sweden now, and do my share of reindeer herding! This is a touching story of finding love again, and living life to the fullest instead of just standing on the sidelines.

I guessed Halley’s secret early on, but it was still heartbreaking moment when she finally confessed all to Bjorn.  I liked Halley. She felt real, honest, and vulnerable. Her development throughout the book is spectacular and I’m pleased she ended up where she did.  I would love to read her travel log, to read about her experiences.

I like Bjorn as well.  I liked teh way he felt at peace with the countryside, the way he spoke, the wisdom I felt he had.  The way he had patience to teach Halley what she needed to know was a nice touch as well.  I’d also love to read Bjorn’s recipe journal. His secret about his identity is obvious at the beginning of him and Halley meeting, but it works well for it to be hidden. I’m a little bit in love with his lifestyle, the dogs and the reindeer.  Even all that snow and extremely low temperatures.

As always, Jo Thomas has written a book that instantly transports you to a magical place.  She makes you connect with the characters, to feel deeply for them and this book was no different. I love her writing style, and how easily everything flows together.

 

3 thoughts on “Blog Tour Review: A Winter Beneath The Stars by Jo Thomas

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.