Christmas Book Week #2: The Christmas Promise by Sue Moorcroft

29744755

The Christmas Promise by Sue Moorcroft

Publisher: Avon
Published: 6th October 2016
Format: Ebook
Pages: 353
ASIN: B01D4WO2OU
ISBN13: 9780008175535

Description

For Ava Bliss, it’s going to be a Christmas to remember …

On a snowy December evening, Sam Jermyn steps into the life of bespoke hat maker Ava. Sparks fly, and not necessarily the good ones.

Times are tough for Ava – she’s struggling to make ends meet, her ex-boyfriend is a bully, and worst of all, it’s nearly Christmas.

So when Sam commissions Ava to make a hat for someone special, she makes a promise that will change her life. She just doesn’t know it yet…

Curl up with this gorgeous, festive read – the perfect treat for fans of Katie Fforde, Carole Matthews and Trisha Ashley.

My Review

Firstly, Thanks to Netgalley and the publisher for my copy of this book in exchange for my review. It’s one I’ve had my Netgalley shelf for a while and this Christmas seemed the perfect time to read it.

I love the cover for this book.  It immediately makes me think of this different mish mash of houses in London.  I guess that’s the aim though as it is set in Camden… Hmm… Pretty though, and a big sense of wintery feelings.

While a good storyline, I didn’t really like the characters the way I thought I would,  except for Sam anyway. He seemed to be the only one with any real depth or sense of reality. Ava came across as a little naive but also independent, strong willed and determined at the same time. I can’t pinpoint what it was I didn’t like, but she slightly irritated me. Maybe it was the fact that she just wouldn’t accept help without an argument? Izz was a bit of a hard one to figure out as well. On one page she was awkward, the next she was this overly confident sassy woman. Tod wasn’t involved enough for me to even form an opinion of and I sensed he had his own story to be told.  I loved Sam’s Mum and his Aunt, they oozed fun and with, sarcasm and a real family feeling which this book slightly lacked.

The writing style was quick and easy to read. Nice, short chapters and a sense of where things were going. While touching on a theme that is very relevant in today’s world, it handles it brilliantly. It even gives advice in its own little way. It makes if clear that it could happen to anyone and that it isn’t their fault. You feel the sympathy for Ava over it all and you really feel that she thinks its her fault and that she will be judged in an awful way. Lucky for her, her friends understand and support her through everything.

What I did really like about this book is that it gives you an update on Sam’s mum and where Ava and Sam ended up in their love story. It really was a happy ever after ending.  I wish more books had this little update page, especially when you don’t know what has happened to some of the characters.

I gave this book 4/5. It honestly would have been a big fat 5 if I connected with all the characters like I did immediately with Sam.

Advertisements

Book Review: The Missing Twin by Alex Day

The Missing Twin The Missing Twin by Alex Day

Publication: Ebook: 18th August 2017 Paperback: 5th October 2017
Publisher: Killer Reads
Format: Ebook
Pages: 400
ASIN: B072TYXKLB

Goodreads

Amazon UK

Description

A unique, exciting psychological thriller that will tug at your heartstrings, and keep you guessing until the very last page!

Can she find her sister before it’s too late?

A missing girl…a secret to be uncovered.

Edie and her identical twin Laura have always been best friends. So when Laura surprises Edie at the Mediterranean holiday resort where she’s working, Edie can’t wait for the partying to start! But then, Laura vanishes without a trace…

At the same time, in a country on the other side of the sea, Fatima and her twin daughters set out on a harrowing journey that only the strongest – and luckiest – survive.

Edie and Fatima’s lives are worlds apart, but now, their paths are set to collide, with devastating consequences. When Fatima hovers on the brink of survival, Edie must risk her own life to save her, and finally discover the truth about her missing sister.

Review

Thanks to the author for reaching out and giving me a copy of this book in exchange for my review.  The paperback is published the beginning of next month – look out for it!! I think you”ll be grateful for having this in your life.

I have only seen good reviews about this book. I didn’t see where it was going to begin with, I really struggled to get into it. After starting it like 3 times, something happened. Something gripped me, wrapped itself around my brain, and I just carried on reading it instead of putting it down like I had been doing.

Characters. I felt so much for Fatima. The struggles she went through, the strength she had to keep going for her children. She was an incredible character, my favourite character. I was wishing that she would get to where she wanted to be and that everything worked out for her and the girls. I could never imagine finding the strength or the determination to get through what she did, and it’s made me realise what these families do to get to safety. Edie, I didn’t really like. She was a bit whiney, demanding, naive maybe? She just didn’t work for me, something was off and I just didn’t really connect with her. Vuk I hated immediately, he was a cruel, horrible man. I had a strong feeling that he wasn’t as nice as she made him out to be straight away, and I’m glad I wasn’t wrong about it. I had a feeling that Zayn was going to have a connection to everything, the little hints were there about families and I took a liking to him.  He seemed innocent, free. I had my fingers crossed that he was not a bad person.

I loved how we would go from chapter to chapter changing between Edie and Fatima, and then bigger gaps between each of the women. It made me question what was happening to them, what was going to happen and if they would get their answers. The writing style was a bit jumpy but it added to the tense feeling throughout the whole book.  It made me question everyone who was involved. And as for that ending, that was a bombshell and a half!!!!! I was rooting for a happy(ish) ending but damn… That was not it, but looking at it and thinking about it, maybe it was a happy ending? Everyone got the answers they were looking for. It worked amazingly well. An eye opener if anything!

I have some questions that have been left unanswered, unless I didn’t register that they’d been answered. I can’t really ask them though without giving them away so I’d love to speak to someone about it!!! One of them include Laura, and messages, but without going into detail it’s a bit of a mystery to me.

After my struggles to start reading it, I cannot recommend this book enough. It kept me guessing how everyone was connected, who was the bad guy, what happened to Laura, everyone was under suspicion and I rarely get like that with books. I didn’t trust anyone.  For all of those reasons, this book gets 4/5

Reading Slump..

So, I’ve been on a bit of a reading slump the last few days, well week anyway.  Before Monday, I hadn’t read anything properly since reading Another Love by Amanda Prowse. Since then, I’ve found the other ARCs I’ve got a little difficult to get into.  I don’t know if its because I didn’t think very highly of Another Love of what but it’s been difficult!!

So, after struggling with 2 ARCs last week, I decided I needed something that was just easy reading, something light and a it romancy – not a word I know!!! I ended up choosing The Vintage Teacup Club by Vanessa Greene.  This is her debut book, having already had another 2 published since.  I loved this book, it was what I needed to get me back into the swing of things.  It was everything I wanted, no scrap that.  It was everything I needed to see that not all books are awful.  I enjoyed the idea of them (Jenny, Maggie and Alison) going around collecting vintage teacups after sharing the first one they all discovered at a boot sale.  It follows their joint journeys up to Jenny’s wedding, and the things that they  have to overcome and build a reliable, strong friendship.  Just maginificent.  I gave this 4/5 on Goodreads. I also have to say I read this in just a few hours.

The second book this week was The Last Letter from Your Lover by Jojo Moyes.  Yet again, she’s written a delightful book.  This one follows Ellie (Present Day), and Jennifer (1960-Present Day).  Ellie finds a love letter to Jennifer, unaware of who it is too and from.  The book switches between them both, with us learning about Jennifer’s affair, being the married person, and Ellie’s affair, being the mistress.  It was wonderful, and makes me confirm that Jojo Moyes knows what she’s doing with these books!!! This i gave another 4/5 on Goodreads.  This one I mainly read while waiting at the hospital for the Man-Child’s consultant appointment, it kept me entertained. So much so I ended up finishing it last night and brings me to….

…. My Third book this week, My Sister’s Secret by Tracy Buchanan.  This I’ve just pretty much just finished.  I enjoyed it, it was steady going, easy to read and flowed pretty good as well.  It switches between Willow and Charity (Willow’s Mum).  I can’t really say much without giving anything away really.  The twist towards the end of the book did take me by surprise but didn’t totally shock me.  It was more of a “oh, i suppose that makes sense!” than a “Oh My God I Did Not See That Coming!!!!” sort of thing.. Well written and I’ve just added The Atlas of Us to my kindle collection.  I rated this 4/5 on Goodreads but I’m thinking it was more of 3.5 for me.