Publication Day Review: Perfect Death by Helen Fields

Publication Day Review


Perfect Death by Helen Fields
Series: D.I Callanach Book 3

Published: 25th January 2018
Publisher: Avon Books UK
Format: Ebook
Pages: 448
ISBN13: 9780008181628
ASIN: B073YKBTYD

Goodreads

Amazon UK

Description

There’s no easy way to die…

Unknown to DI Luc Callanach and the newly promoted DCI Ava Turner, a serial killer has Edinburgh firmly in his grip. The killer is taking his victims in the coldest, most calculating way possible – engineering slow and painful deaths by poison, with his victims entirely unaware of the drugs flooding their bloodstream until it’s too late.

But how do you catch a killer who hides in the shadows? A killer whose pleasure comes from watching pain from afar? Faced with their most difficult case yet, Callanach and Turner soon realise they face a seemingly impossible task…

My Review

Thanks to Netgalley and the publisher, Avon, for my copy of the book in exchange for my review.

First impressions of this book is that it is very different to the other 2 in the series.  You don’t think that any crime is being committed to begin with. It lures you in with false pretences, and then you begin to doubt it all. You begin to notice coincidences, then a certain character, then something shocking happens and it all clicks in to place.

Normally, crime books leave me a little unsatisfied but the DI Callanach books do not.  This book particularly has renewed my love for crime books, it’s reminded me what can be great about them.  It’s reminded me that sometimes, just sometimes, there is an author out there who can leave a chill in your bones.

This book was fast-paced, clever, and a little untrustworthy.  The characters all work well together, with the perfect balance of witty comments, insults, and just good humour. The crimes within the book could have been perfect, if there wasn’t the little details that would normally get left behind.  This book has it all, a near perfect crime, a horrendous villain, some gangsters and underground crimes.

Callanach and Turner have incredible chemistry, they play off the page perfectly and it balances the good people and the bad people in the book.  Their relationship, the non-professional relationship, it still at an almost stage and it’s full of suspense and a very likeable will they/won’t they situation.  I’m rooting for them, but there are many things that could potential ruin everything for them. It’s all about their timing and it’s usually one of them that is a little off.

Helen Fields, for me, writes perfect books.  This one has shocked me, left me a little wary, and wanting more and more from her! I loved this book, along with the first two.

For me, a big fat gruesome 5/5!!!!

 

Advertisements

Publication Day Review: A Map of the Dark by Karen Ellis

Publication Day Review


A Map of The Dark (The Searchers #1) by Karen Ellis

Publisher: Mulholland Books
Published: 11th January 2018
Format: Ebook
ISBN: 9781473662773
ASIN: B071NLV5CS

Goodreads

Amazon UK

Description

A girl missing
A woman, searching
A killer, planning…

A thrilling new FBI series for fans of Tess Gerritsen and Karin Slaughter.

FBI Agent Elsa Myers finds missing people.
She knows how it feels to be lost…

Though her father lies dying in a hospital north of New York City, Elsa cannot refuse a call for help. A teenage girl has gone missing from Forest Hills, Queens, and during the critical first hours of the case, a series of false leads hides the fact that she did not go willingly.

With each passing hour, as the hunt for Ruby deepens into a search for a man who may have been killing for years, the case starts to get underneath Elsa’s skin. Everything she has buried – her fraught relationship with her sister and niece, her self-destructive past, her mother’s death – threatens to resurface, with devastating consequences.

In order to save the missing girl, she may have to lose herself…and return to the darkness she’s been hiding from for years.

 

My Review

Thank you to the publisher and to Netgalley for my copy of the book, in exchange for my honest review.

This review is not going to be a long one, I have mixed feelings about this book. I liked Else, I liked Lex, but there was something missing. I didn’t feel excited, thrilled… I didn’t see the scary part of it.  I found the whole thing a little rushed, a little sketchy, and maybe just a little bland? It lacked maybe a certain oomph to make it a great crime book.

I enjoyed learning about Elsa, and her past. I didn’t see the final detail in the relationship with her Mother, in all honesty I thought it would be all down to another family member. Else has her hidden secrets, and for once I wish we had an FBI agent, or detective, who doesn’t have a troubled past. Yet, the troubled past worked in this case.  The description of the book made it seem like her past will overflow into her current case but I wouldn’t say it did. Maybe the smallest bit, but not in a huge way I was expecting. I really should learn to not expect anything with these books!! Lex was an interesting character, and I hope it makes an appearance in any future books. He worked well against Elsa’s coldness and her determination to keep everything hidden.

The book was written well, I’m glad we got the parts between Elsa and her mum, Deb.  It was good to know the full backstory all in one book instead of having to wait for it spread over a whole load of books. I felt for Elsa in those scenes as it must have been tough for her to experience that, and not be able to do anything about it.  You really get a sense of how Elsa felt in those moments, and you fully understood why her dad and her let it happen.

With it’s blandness, it’s lack of a spark I give this book a 3.5 out of 5.

 

Book Review: The Madam by Jaime Raven

The Madam

The Madam by Jaime Raven
Publisher: Avon
Published: May 2016
Format: Paperback
Pages: 304
ISBN: 0008171467 (ISBN13: 9780008171469)

Synopsis:
Scars might fade but the memories don’t…
Three years and eleven months. That’s how long Lizzie Wells was banged up inside Holloway prison for, serving time for a crime she didn’t commit.
Six months. That’s how long it took Lizzie to fall in love with a woman inside the prison. Scar, who might just have reason for her name.
Now Lizzie is finally free, the duo embark on a search to find those who framed Lizzie and sent her down for cold blooded murder.
THE BUSINESS MAN. THE COPPER. THE MADAM.
It’s time they paid their price…

My Thoughts:

Firstly, let me thank the author for sending me a copy to read and review!! It had me gripped within the first couple of pages and couldn’t put it down until I knew the truth.

Lizzie and Scar are fantastic characters, I liked them both a lot – in fact I liked all the characters in the book which rarely happens for me.  They were developed well, although I think we could have had a little more backstory about Scar.  I’m not complaining though!!!!! And I liked even more when we found out why she was in prison to begin with! (I won’t give details but it’ll make a man cringe)

To begin with, Lizzie comes across as unstable, determined and just out right insane.  But by the end of the book, she’s proved she is determined but not unstable or insane.  She was a great character, one of the best I’ve come across this year.  I don’t think it was important if they were lovers or not, it’s not really defining point of the story for me.  It worked though, and made a strangely nice change from the normal female-male way of things.

I kind of predicted who the bad cop was about halfway through, but I didn’t care as it could have gone either way with it.  It was predictable in a lot of places but it didn’t change a thing for me.  I still enjoyed the book immensely, and as I said I couldn’t leave it alone!! I even found myself reading it through my lunch break at work instead of spending the time with the child (this being a big thing it being a sunday!!!!)

It was an excellent, well written story with enough twists, blood, violence, drama, and everything else you could ever want in a book like this!! A huge 5/5 from me!!

Book Review: Hellbound by David McCaffrey

This isn’t going to be a fancy review like I normally write. I’m just copying what I wrote for my Goodreads.. I’m suffering on 3 hours sleep and I’m due to be at work soon!! Not fun having to do a trip to A&E at midnight!!! Anyway, below is what I’ve written with a few extra bits!!

I wasn’t quite sure where this book would take me when I  started, it begins with an execution and ends with one to. Everything in between was gripping, an eye-opener and thought provoking for me. I can understand that capital punishment is a tough subject to write about but with the twist to this one was completely out of the blue. No, not out of the blue just not what I fully expected. It’s got a few twists and a few moments where I was scratching my head but nothing totally shocking. I had little inkling throughout and the majority of them panned out, so maybe a little predictable for me.

The writing style had me gripped, and the “interview” sections with the serial killer was a complete new take for me.  All of the psychological paragraphs and that I skimmed over as they didn’t really make the book for me. The author could have easily missed them out and still have a reasonably good book.

Overall, a complete new way to have a serial killer.  Stripped back to being a ‘normal’ person, with everything all muddled at the same time! A solid 3/5 from me.